Solace to the Thumping Heartbeats

It was 9.00 am on 28th May 2017. Diyagama Mahinda Rajakpaksha stadium was heated up with university athletes attempting to put their victorious innings in the track and field events once again in day two. Track and field is a sport which includes athletic contests established on the skills of running, jumping for heights or distances and throwing. It normally measures individual performance except in the case of relays.  

The track was first grabbed by women’s 100m hurdles, after which came the final of women’s 400m hurdles. G.V.H. Wathsala Kumari from University of Sabaragamuwa secured the first place with a best time of 16.21s while the second and third places were drawn by D.M.H.U. Dissanayake from University of Kelaniya and H.M.P.M.K. Bandara from University of Sabaragamuwa respectively.

Next up was men’s triple jump. University of Sri Jayawardenepura sprang up attaining the victory by the performance of G.K.D.S. Piyarathna while University of Sabaragamuwa’s S.V. Mark and University of Colombo’s R.M.K.G.D. Suranga earned the second and third places accordingly.

It was again a moment for University of Sabaragamuwa in the women’s shot put final with their magnificent player K.G.H. Rangika triumphantly winning the event. The second and third places were conferred to University of Sri Jayawardenepura and University of Sabaragamuwa.

Up next was the men’s pole vault event. The moment was spurred by the victory taken by University of Peradeniya’s B. Lavanan, while the second and third places were earned by W.S Chandrakumara from University of Sri Jayawardenepura and L.G. Indika from University of Moratuwa. It was the first time for University of Moratuwa to flash among the first three places that day. The stunning player B. Lavanan set the new meet record of 3.9m for pole vault, intriguing the moment even more.

The men’s 110m hurdles winner was claimed by University of Colombo by their victorious player, A.I. Nilaweera. The second and third places were taken by D.G.D.B. Ariyawansha from University of Sabaragamuwa and G.A.U.B.K. Wickramasinghe from University of Colombo again. A.I. Nilaweera was 0.02s away from pulling off the new meet record of 15.06s.

University of Kelaniya was thrilled when their athlete, K.G.D.N. Nawarathna became the first in the next event – women’s triple jump finals. University of Sabaragamuwa grabbed both second and third places.

The speedy horses of the universities up roared the stadium in exclamation during the men’s and women’s 400m events. University of Sabaragamuwa beautifully grabbed the first place in both the men’s and women’s events by the performance of W.M.S.S. Wijesundara and R.M.S.K. Rathnayake respectively. The second and third places in the men’s event were won by University of the Visual and Performing Arts and University of Sabaragamuwa while University of Sri Jayawardenepura and University of Peradeniya grabbed the second and third places in the women’s event.

Next up was the men’s 100m championship, which was claimed by K.A. Kottahachchi from University of Sabaragamuwa with his magnificent performance. The second place was taken by A.I. Nilaweera of University of Colombo and G.K.D.S. Piyarathna of University of Sri Jayawardenepura won the third place.

The 1500m track event for men and women was next and University of Sri Jayawardenepura’s A.J.M.O.D. Madhusanka and University of Sabaragamuwa’s K.P.D. Kumarage achieved victory in the men’s and women’s events respectively. Meanwhile University of Sabaragamuwa obtained both second and third place in men’s 1500m and in the women’s event again University of Sabaragamuwa was able to grab the second place and the third place was taken by University of Peradeniya.

So far, it was individual brilliance which lead them to victory. Relays on the other hand measure team performance. The glamorous sprinters of University of Sabaragamuwa went on to win both men’s and women’s 4x400m relays, reigning their supremacy in Diyagama Mahinda Rajapaksha stadium. Moreover, the men’s relay team established a new meet record finishing with a timing of 3:23.36. The second place of 4x400m men’s relay was owned by University of Sri Jayawardenepura and the third place was acquired by University of Ruhuna. In the women’s 4x400 m relay, University of Sri Jayawardenepura and University of Peradeniya conquered the second and third places respectively.

The day concluded with the most obvious result of University of Sabaragamuwa leading the points table with a total of 249 points (91 points from men’s events and 158 from women’s events). University of Sri Jayawardenepura achieved second place with 33 points from the women’s team and became men’s champions with their 101 points. University of Colombo with a total of 95 points secured the third place in the overall championship.

The track and field events concluded creating some stars for University of Moratuwa too. Seventh place in the women’s championship was a victorious achievement as they were not in the top ten list last year and the men’s team also was able to maintain their eighth place. Landing eighth place in the overall championship wouldn’t be a cushy task if Mr. Chanuka and all the members of the department of physical education were not there to hold them strong.


Article by: Harshani Rajakaruna

Edited by: Yumna Albar

Rate this article: 
Your rating: None Average: 3.8 (4 votes)


Receive our Newsletter

MoraSpirit Initiative,
125/56A, Peterson Lane,
Colombo 06.
+(94) 78 391 0804
MoraSpirit Logo
Go to top