MORA SMASHES 2018: A Spectacular Clash of Smashes and Spins

It was around 6.30pm in the evening and the excitement of the jam packed stands of the gymnasium was palpable as the crowd waited for the beginning of the most anticipated finals of the MORA Smashes Tournament, Intermediate and Novices men’s and women’s Finals. In fact, it was a very heated two days for the budding school level contestants as they clashed against each other to showcase their talents in the most awaited Novices tournament of the year, MORA Smashes 2018 held at the University of Moratuwa Gymnasium on 19th and 20th May 2018.  Vidulaka Methwan and Minna Hassim bagged the Intermediate Men’s and Women’s Championships respectively while Thenuka Isuru Bandara and Lesanya Sethumdee bagged the Novices Men’s and Women’s Championships.

The event was organized by the Table Tennis team of University of Moratuwa in collaboration with the Sri Lanka Table Tennis Association. More than 600 contestants from all over the island representing over 50 schools, clubs and institutes participated for the event making it the best and the biggest it has been in the history of MORA Smashes.

The summarized performances are listed below;

Under 8 Girls’ Singles;

Champion: Menuji Sehansa -Viharamahadevi Balika M.V., Kiribathgoda

Runners-Up: A.G. Tharuli Jinethma - Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda.

Under 8 Boys’ Singles;

Champion: Chithila Desandu Wanniarachchi- Ananda College, Colombo

Runners-Up: Venura Abeyweera-Vidyartha College, Kandy

Under 10 Girls’ Singles;

Champion: W. Chathumi Imaya- Sri Devananda College, Ambalangoda

Runners-Up: Nethmi Hansika Perera- G. Karandeniya K.V

Under 10 Boys’ Singles;

Champion: M. Amasha Dewmika- Sri Devananda College, Ambalangoda

Runners-Up: Akain Suranga- Colombo South International College

Under 12 Girls’ Singles;

Champion: O. Vinuki Rathnuli- Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda

Runners-Up: Hasini Dullewe- Hillwood College, Kandy

Under 12 Boys’ Singles;

Champion: Diran Hamer- Royal College

Runners-Up: Saluka Premachandra- Ananda College, Colombo

Under 15 Girls’ Singles;

Champion: Vinuki Janithma-Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda

Runners-Up: Induprabha Rathnayaka- Mahamaya College, Kandy

Under 15 Boys’ Singles;

Champion: Gesandu Peiris – Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda

Runners-Up: Thenuka Isuru Bandara-Vidyartha College, Kandy

Under 18 Girls’ Singles;

Champion: Sandithie Jayasinghe

Runners-Up: P.B Siwini Imara- St. Mary’s Convent, Matara

Under 18 Boys’ Singles;

Champion: Vinuka Gunawarden-Royal College, Colombo

Runners-Up: Bhashitha Samarasinghe- Ananda College, Colombo

Novices Women’s Singles;

Champion: Lesanya Sethumdee- Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda

Runners-Up: M.H Deshanee Isanka- Anula Devi Girls’ College

Novices Men’s Singles;

Champion: Tharuka Isuru Bandara- Vidyartha College, Kandy

Runners-Up: Sandeep Lamasuriya- Ananda College, Colombo

Intermediate Women’s Singles;

Champion: Minna Hassim- Ladies College- Colombo

Runners-Up: Sarah Kalpani- Holy Cross College, Gampaha

Intermediate Men’s Singles;

Champion: Vidulaka Methwan- D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo

Runners-Up: Mewan Abeywickrama- University of Moratuwa

Closing Ceremony was graced by the presence of the Chief Guest, Mr. Kanchana Atapattu, Physical planner, Central Engineering Consultancy Buraeu, Guest of Honour, K.R.D.C Rathnamudali, Director of Physical education unit, University of Moratuwa and Special Guest, Emeritus Professor Rohan Lucas, Department of Electrical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, University Of Moratuwa.

MoraSpirit Congratulates all the players who marked their names in the history of MORA Smashes.

Article By: Amanda Sheron

Edited By: Imthadh Ahamed

Sponsored By: Millennium IT

Rate this article: 
Your rating: None Average: 4 (4 votes)


Receive our Newsletter

MoraSpirit Initiative,
125/56A, Peterson Lane,
Colombo 06.
+(94) 78 391 0804
MoraSpirit Logo
Go to top