MORA shined at the 9th Korea Cup Taekwondo Championship

The 9th Korea Cup Championship was held on 13th and 18th November, 2012 at the New Stadium at the Race Course ground and at the indoor sports complex of St. Joseph’s College. The tournament was organized by the Korea International Cooperation Agency and Sri Lanka Taekwondo Federation and sponsored by the Embassy of the Republic of Korea. The tournament integrated three categories namely, Inter-School, Inter-University and Open Championship.

University of Moratuwa emerged champions in the Inter-University men’s category after showcasing immense skills where University of Colombo and University of Ruhuna became runners up. University of Kelaniya emerged as the Women’s championship with displaying outshined talents throughout the game while University of Moratuwa became the runner up. University of Kelaniya clinched the overall championship out performing their opponents and showcasing tremendous consistency in both women’s and men’s categories.

The performances and the competitiveness of every university throughout the tournament were highly appreciated. Performances in the men’s kyorugi (fighting), women’s kyorugi (fighting), men’s individual poomsae and women’s individual poomsae by the participants representing University of Moratuwa were remarkable. Wijaya Ekanayaka took part in the individual poomsae event in the National Championship and emerged as the silver medalist and was also awarded the best player of the tournament award. The team consisting Wenuka Chathuranga, Wijaya Ekanayaka, Asanga Sundarapperuma and Mahesh Wickramasinghe clinched the championship in the team poomsae event in the National level which is an outstanding achievement.

The names of the players of University of Moratuwa who performed well during the tournament are as follows,

Men’s Kyorugi (fighting)

Wenuka Chathuranga - Fin weight Bronze
Rajitha Perera – Fly weight Bronze
Wijaya Ekanayaka - Bantamweight Gold
Nalin Sandaruwan - Featherweight Gold
Asanga Sundarapperuma - Lightweight Gold
Mahesh Wickramasinghe - Lightweight Silver
Milinda Fernando - Welterweight Silver
Janith Bogahawatta - Middleweight Gold
Tharindu Rusira - Heavyweight Bronze
Shashika Rajapaksha - Heavyweight Silver

Women’s Kyorugi (fighting)

Kasunika Gamage - Fin weight Silver
Anusha Dilrukshi - Flyweight Gold
Sunaei Gnanathilaka - Bantamweight Silver

Men’s Individual Poomsae

Wenuna Chathuranga - 1st Place (black belt event)
Asanga Sundarapperuma - 2nd place (black belt event)
Nirakaran Nira - 2nd Place (under blue belt)
Mahesh Wickramasinghe - 3rd Place (under red belt)
Tharindu Rusira - 3rd Place (under red belt)

Women’s Individual Poomsae

Kasunika Gamage – under blue gold
Sunari Gnanathilaka – under red gold

Rate this article: 
Your rating: None Average: 3 (2 votes)


Receive our Newsletter

MoraSpirit Initiative,
125/56A, Peterson Lane,
Colombo 06.
+(94) 78 391 0804
MoraSpirit Logo
Go to top